We Shall Remember Them

Today my school held three assemblies to celebrate Remembrance Day. I took part in the ceremonies, working on a photo essay to raise awareness of our hard-won First World rights, and collecting donations for the poppy fund.

The slideshow of Canada’s fallen mixed with the beautiful musical arrangement students performed left me with tears in my eyes. It struck me how fortunate I am that thousands of people before me risked, and many gave, their lives to ensure their descendants’, and everyone else’s, have the rights we have now. We are not yet living in a world where everyone can freely express their basic human rights. I feel very fortunate to be living in such a well-off country.

On November 11, I encourage you all to celebrate Remembrance Day in any way at all. What you do can be as simple as wearing a poppy over your heart. You can also attend a Remembrance Day ceremony, or if you live near Ottawa, visit the Grave of the Unknown Soldier.

They shall not grow old as we grow old:
Age shall not weary them, not the years condemn.
At the going down of the sun and in the morning
We will remember them.

Image courtesy of Flickr Creative Commons
User : Lauren Cathy Turner

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

